Fork me on GitHub

Release Numbers

Release numbers for the Oracle Coherence Incubator are represented as three separate numbers, each separated by a full-stop in the form x.y.z where by the meaning of the individual numbers in the release number is as follows:

x: Changes in this number represents a major or new generation that of which introduces new functionality or removing existing functionality.

In most cases, especially those where functionality is removed, this means maintaining complete backwards compatibility between releases is unlikely or impossible.

Typically changes in this number mean a change in a dependency on a major Oracle Coherence release.

For example:

 8 = Oracle Coherence versions 3.5.x
 9 = Oracle Coherence versions 3.6.x
10 = Oracle Coherence versions 3.7.0.x and 3.7.1.x
11 = Oracle Coherence versions 3.7.1.x  (first CDDL release)
12 = Oracle Coherence versions 12.1.x

This number is also used to identify the "edition" of the Oracle Coherence Incubator. For example: Oracle Coherence Incubator 11.

y: Changes in this number represents a minor upgrade.

Such releases typically introduce some new functionality, perform some refactoring and/or deprecate (but not remove) existing functionality.

Sometimes these changes may break some backwards compatibility.

z: Changes in this number represents a patch or fix release.

Such releases should never break backwards compatibility. Typically these are used for documentation and non-breaking dependency upgrades.